Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Buying frame without shock included
  • desperatebicycle

My lad is insisting on buying one of the “bargain” Commencal Meta SXs on CRC – it appears this frame comes without a shock. I’ve never done this before, so what do we need to look for in a shock (size is 230 x 62.5) Plus, what mounting hardware needed and anything should be of concern? Helpful links welcome 🙂 Thanks for any assistance!

bruneep

Once you’ve factored in the cost of a shock and possible service tuning of a 2nd hand one also hardware is it still a bargain?

honourablegeorge

Mounting hardware – phone TF Tuned, tell then you are putting shock X on frane Y, buy what they tell you.

desperatebicycle

Cool, thanks chaps. Yeah, hence bargain in quotes… Still it’s half what Commencal are selling them for the same way. Turns out he’s ordered a shock from Swinnerton anyway now. So I’ll see what turns up!

BearBack
    Free Member

A retail shock almost certainly won’t have the same rebound or compression shim stacks.
    Commencal will have custom tuned.shocks from fox/rockshox for each of their frames.
    It might not be an issue, or it might change the ride characteristics noticeably as shim stacks are tuned around the frames kinematics…

BearBack
    Free Member

A retail shock almost certainly won’t have the same rebound or compression shim stacks.
    Commencal will have custom tuned.shocks from fox/rockshox for each of their frames.
    It might not be an issue, or it might change the ride characteristics noticeably as shim stacks are tuned around the frames kinematics…

Here’s the fox spec off a meta sx tear off on pinkbike by inputting the code in fox’s website.

2022 Series FLOAT X 2pos
    Serial number: 1023264-0332-T
    Part number: 979-67-046
    Description: 2023_22, FLOAT X, P-S, A, 2pos, Evol LV, Commencal, Meta SX, 230, 62.5, 0.6 Spacer, CL, RM, Rezi LMB1, Standard, Neutral Logo

So, iirc,
    compression Light
    Rebound Medium