Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Budget used car options?
  • Duane…
    Free Member

Hi all,

So my 1998 Ford Focus Mk1 needs a whole lot of work doing to get it through its MOT, looking to be around £300 (that’s buying bits from a scrappie and doing some of the work myself) – more than the car is worth probably.

2 options – try and find a similar car for under £500, or “splash out” a bit and spend around £1000-1200.

I’m a student, hence the tight budgets. Needs to be reliable, have a decent amount of MOT left, not be a total grandad car, hold bikes and people well, but not be huge. I loved the size of my 3 door Focus – the reliability not so much.

Any thoughts on what I could replace it with? Easy option is find another Focus and hope it runs a bit better, but don’t want to limit myself.

Thanks,

Duane.

hora
    Free Member

Toyota Corrolla
    Honda Starlet
    Honda Civic

johnellison
    Free Member

Volvo V40 mark 1. Basically it’s a Mitsubishi Lancer underneath. Pity, my neighbour’s just sold his 53 plate 1.6 for next to nothing, it was a nice car too. Just don’t get the 1.8 GDi engine, it’ll be dead within a year.

Duane…
    Free Member

Thanks.

V40 will be a bit big I think, I can see the appeal of an estate but really like the size of my Focus.

Can get a 2001 ish Honda Civic with under 100k miles on the clock for under £1k which is looking quite tempting at the moment, apart from the fact that they are pig ugly..

Any thoughts on Golfs?

bearnecessities

Considered just getting yours through MOT?

dooosuk
    Free Member

What’s wrong with yours? What else have you fixed on it recently?

You may well be better off with the devil you know.

dooosuk
    Free Member

Almera is also chain driven from memory so no cambelt to worry about.

sobriety
    Free Member

I’m a student, not be a total grandad car