Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Bluetooth USB Adaptor for car HIFI?
  • ThePinkster

Hi folks,

My car stereo has phone BT connectivity but it only works for phone calls, not playing music from the phone. It does however have a USB port that I can use for playing music via a flash drive but the shuffle functionality isn’t that great – i.e. it will only shuffle 1 album not the whole library, so I’m looking to possibly use my phone via a BT adaptor like this one plugged into the USB port.

Has anyone tried this? I’ve never used at BT adaptor before so not sure if I’d need to install drivers, in which case I think it’d be a no-go.

The stereo is a Kenwood DNX5260BT and has Apple connectivity for music playback & control via USB but not Android.

Cheers.

ThePinkster

Or if not that is there another way I could do it using the USB?

ta11pau1

Chances of that USB bluetooth dongle working are slim I’d say – they’re meant for Windows PC’s, not a car stereo.

You could go down the bluetooth FM transmitter route, had one in my old car as it didn’t do Audio over BT.

I had a £18 one which worked perfectly.

simon_g

I used to use a 30-pin (iPod) bluetooth adaptor when I had a BMW that wouldn’t do bluetooth streaming. Stereo thinks it’s an iPod, phone thinks it’s a bluetooth speaker.

Like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/392976776838

smokey_jo

If you have an Aux port then get a bluetooth receiver to fit that. Look for one with a built in amp and suppressor.

Superficial
    Free Member

I think there’s a line-input (?), so you can hook that up to either a physical cable or a bluetooth receiver.

I have been using a Parrot kit – mki9100 iirc – in my car(s) for years. Connects into the stereo’s aux-in. Bit of a faff to install but works really well for everything I need.

5lab