Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Bike GPS navigation inc footpaths
  • oldnick

Bike GPS novice here.

I want to plot routes on my laptop that will include roads, footpaths and everything in-between, then follow them on a bike GPS. I also use Strava to record my rides, though I think they all do that. Battery life whilst navigating needs to be decent. I think I’d prefer maps rather than turn by turn so I can work out what’s happened when I’ve still managed to lose my way.

Is there a primer somewhere that can explain what I need to know, and to guide me towards a purchase?

james-rennie

For laptop route planning I like ‘Ride with GPS’
    You can plan your route in there, then transfer it to your chosen head unit or navigation app.
    I use the paid-for version now, for some extra features, but i remember the free ine was good enough for planning.

nickjb
    Free Member

OnTheGoMaps is good for plotting. It shows most paths and auto snaps to them (you can force it to not snap if a path is missing). You can then export to a gpx file to follow on your device. Very simple, free and doesn’t need an account.

For the device there’s a huge choice now and most are pretty good. Cheapest is an old phone, especially if you already have one. Dedicated unit like a Garmin has some pros and cons depending on your needs. There’s quite a few threads on here.

johnnystorm

If you are dead set against turn-by-turn then a Garmin hiking GPS wouldn’t be a bad shout, not sure of the current models but it’ll be an etrex/dakota/oregon or similar.

I’ve just got an edge explore. It’s like the 1030 but with fewer “serious roadie training features” so you get a bigger screen and more detailed maps at a decent price. Have a look on amazon for a “renewed” one. They are factory refurbished and literally as good as new.