Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Bike carriers for car?
  • spleenexploded
    Free Member

For the last few years just putting my bike in the back of the car has been fine though with my girlfriend getting a bike and the reverse jenga situation we had getting them to the trails and back yesterday I’m keen to get a bike carrier.

There’s no tow bar on the car sadly (leased Skoda Hatchback) so I’m looking at either roof rack or boot attached. Currently leaning towards boot.

I’ve seen rear carriers for like £50 but this seems like something I need to spend a bit more money on? Currently looking at the Saris Bones Ex 3, it’s not particularly cheap, but also not as expensive as a Thule.

I have zero idea or experience with these. Both roof and rear/boot attached carriers give me the fear that the bikes will fall off mid trip.

Can anyone share their experiences and recommendations?

b230ftw
    Free Member

I used rear strap on racks for years but I don’t anymore as the police have clamped down on their use as nearly everyone who uses them doesn’t use a separate light board when the bikes obscure the lights. And if you’re fitting the electrics for the lights you may as well fit a tow bar.

I’m getting a roof rack for my Skoda this time.

Roof racks are good, you’ll get a hit on your mpg but they are always on the car and ready to use. How they fit to your car depends on the car.

cookeaa

My Related thread from the other day

Where I posted a link to this: £45 double SeaSucker clone.

It’s not a PSA, I’ve not received it yet, it could be bobbins yet…

But like you I’ve stuck bikes in the car or a strap on rack for short trips, and on roof bars for bigger distances with other luggage and passengers, but I wanted something quick and adaptable (who knows what I’ll be driving next?) Suction cup carriers appeal on that basis…

simon_g