Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Amazon Smile finishing
  • PrinceJohn

The one thing that made Amazon bearable to use morally will be finishing this year.

Apparently not enough people used it – hardly surprising since they never mention it anywhere.

doris5000

never heard of it!

kelvin

Apparently not enough people used it

I call bullshit. They don’t want to keep giving to our chosen charities*. Cutting all the corners they can. Say they’re increasing donations elsewhere… but not saying whether that increase is more or less than what they’ll save by closing Smile.

[ *mine is set as Tweed Valley Trails Association ]

ChrisL

I changed my Amazon bookmarks to Smile ones when I signed up for it, but the occasional emails I received from Amazon about them making Smile donations always did seem to report surprisingly small amounts of cash, given how much their overall UK turnover must be.

mahowlett
    Free Member

Shame, I’ve been using it for a few years now, they never publicised it much even when it was first created, but I’ve not seen any mention of it on the amazon site for a long time now, if they’d ever put any effort into it it would have been much more successful I’m sure. It didn’t surprise me that amazon never pushed it much as there’s no money in it for them, and that’s all they care about, but I was surprised charities didn’t publicise it a bit.

kelvin

They should introduce grimace.amazon.co.uk where they pay UK tax equivalent to that a UK high street independant shop would have to pay for the value of the order placed.

kimbers

. It didn’t surprise me that amazon never pushed it much as there’s no money in it for them, and that’s all they care about, but I was surprised charities didn’t publicise it a bit.

All of this,

Smile donations always did seem to report surprisingly small amounts of cash, given how much their overall UK turnover must be.

Also this

shame its ending, but was always ridiculous that they hid it away