• This topic has 28 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by benp1.
Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • I'm no mechanical monkey but this is getting on my tits now!
  • Locoboy
    Free Member

The situation is.
    Shimano XT brakes (the type with the shiny XT top cap and ‘easy to bleed’)
    I store my bike front wheel up on the wall
    I’ve had some issues with the brakes being really spongy so I had a go at bleeding them, they seems ok for a handful of rides then hung up for a couple of weeks got it down for a ride and no rear brake at all.
    LBS bled it for me
    Seemed fine for a dozen rides
    Hung it up for last 4 weeks (been riding hard tail)
    Got it down tonight at I want to ride it tomorrow and guess what……..No back brake at all. You can pull the lever and wheel the bike along no problem.
    Iv’e flicked the lever a few times and it is no better so…..
    Got the bleed stuff out the tool box, syringe on the lever housing, syringe on the bleed nipple on the caliper,, both with fluid in.
    Cracked open the nipple and tried to push some fluid up to the lever, no go, wound the nipple out a bit more just incase i hadn’t cracked it open enough, nope still not working so I tried it the other way from the lever down, nothing, no fluid transfer at all.
    I was pushing gently on the lever syringe and noticed fluid weeping out between the silver top cap and the black lever body I’m hoping this is normal as i suspect it is just a reservoir under no pressure so does not have a pressure resistant seal – tell me if I’m wrong.
    Its almost like the hose is crimped but it does not seem to be (otherwise the lever would be firm)
    Has something gone wrong inside my lever housing?
    Is it f8cked!?
    Any help would be great
    I’m not a monkey when it comes to mechanical things but these brakes are getting on my tits now!

whitestone
    Free Member

Have you got the bite adjustment screw wound in? If so, unwind it.