Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Alps for 5″ wus and 6″ hooligan
  • cymohndee
    Free Member

I have a plan.. but it really would benefit from the wisdom from all you ST alpine old hands.

As a post GCSE treat and last gasp ageing father fledgling son bonding exercise I’d like to take my 16yr old to have some fun in the alps for a week. I’ve never done this before and budget is an issue!

Now my Idea of mountain biking heaven is pointing slightly down swoopy flowy singletrack off the brakes on my Pace RC405. His idea is not having to pedal at all, in the air jumps and drops, just short of world cup downhill on his beefed Spesh Enduro.

It will probably be just us two and I’m keen that we both have a good time and would prefer to get to the end of the week still talking to each other. Is there somewhere we can go that will suit us both?

cynic-al
    Free Member

Morzine/Les Gets has plenty DH stuff and old school singletrack, you’d probably need a guide for the latter.

stevomcd
    Free Member

Come see us, we do most of our riding on flowy singletrack but there’s also plenty of DH-style riding in the valley at Tignes and Les Arcs. There’s even some North Shore lurking in the woods at Sainte Foy if you know where to look…

For you:

For cymohndeejunior:

Tracey

Verbier would be good, our girls love it.

Tracey

cymohndee
    Free Member

Thanks all, anymore?

flowmtbguy
    Free Member

I know endlessride are doing fathers and sons weeks again – sounds like a good fit to me!

sootyandjim
    Free Member

Speak to the guys at Trailaddiction in Les Arcs. Although I don’t stay with them when I go out there (a friend owns a chalet in the area so I stop there) I have been with them a few times on their guided rides and if you’d be hard pushed to find better quality guides than theirs.