Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 74 total)
  • Adobe Creative Cloud photography plan
  • molgrips
    Free Member

Do we think this is a good idea or not? Any experiences?

Anyone use their online storage? Is it a good service?

binners

Its Adobe. They’ll price everything, and shove their corporate weight around, to put all the competition out of business, then put the prices through the roof.

As a ground rule, if you don’t have to use them – because for so much now you just have too, because there’s no option – then don’t!

molgrips
    Free Member

Ok then, alternatives to lightroom?

craigxxl
    Free Member

I got a years free subscription as part of a promotion when I bought a new camera. Photoshop and Lightroom are great products but the price of the subscription wasn’t worth it for the amount of time I use it so bought Affinity Photo instead which covers everything I need for much less.
    I didn’t use the online storage as I use iCloud.

Midnighthour
    Free Member

Try searching the photography forums for peoples experiences and alternative programs.

Peoples main concern has been finding themselves stranded with a load of unusable personal files if for any reason they can no longer pay the subscription.

Also you can’t really have a stand alone non internet machine as to continue using CC Lightroom or photoshop you have to connect to the internet to keep validating your program or it stops working (things may have moved on from that last one marginally, I no longer follow CC stuff).

Lightroom standalone 6 is still available, but Adobe have gone back on their word. Originally they said they would continue the stand alone version but as soon as they released 6 they said it would be the last non subscription version, then immediately made a big deal of upgrading the CC version of 6 and leaving all the stand alone new purchasers already dumped with their brand new copies. Yes,lets just slap loyal customers in the face.