Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Yoga and Pilates
  • carbon337
    Free Member

My road club held its first winter group turbo and yoga session tonight. We were all new to yoga but it was great.

Thoroughly enjoyed it, especially after doing an hour on a turbo. Does anyone else do any yoga? Recommend me a book to read that I can follow at home.

jimmy

I do pilates, would always recommend it. And to anyone scoffing at it being for girls – try it!

carbon337
    Free Member

We had about 15 blokes and 2 women. The instructor was a bit weird though. What’s all this personal journey stuff about? Fancy doing a bit at home just not sure where to start though.

sweepy
    Free Member

do yoga with me

Shedloads of classes here, and not much of the claptrap

schnullelieber
    Free Member

I’ve been doing yoga classes once or twice a week for the past 6 months, and really feel the benefits. Like Jimmy says, it can be quite hard work. Can’t help with videos I’m afraid but personally as a beginner I’d prefer classes with a good teacher who checks and corrects your postures so you know you’re getting the most benefit. A lot of gyms do classes.

lodge
    Free Member

Yes I have been doing Yoga a few years now and love it, makes you realise just how stiff and inflexible you get with everyday life and how bad your breathing can be, I do it at home now most days.

geebus
    Free Member

Oddly enough, went to my first yoga class yesterday, straight after a spinning class.

Seemed ok. Been meaning to go to Yoga for ages to see if it helped my dodgy back, but had to pay extra in previous gym.

stuartie_c
    Free Member

I do pilates, would always recommend it. And to anyone scoffing at it being for girls – try it!

+1

Excellent for core strength and clearing up niggling back pain.

I stopped for a while and the aches and pains came home to roost. Now started BMF instead which hurts in a whole other way….

ScottChegg
    Free Member