Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Why are MTB/cycle parts so expensive?
  • DrP

I know this has been done before (to death!), but to put things in comparison…

I’m building JuniorP a little ride on car thing (like Toylander..) and wanted a disc brake (cable) calliper.

On the good ol’Bay/CRC etc, and couldn’t find a MTB one for less than “too much”!. Then someone suggested mini moto parts:
    -calliper £4.50
    -120mm disc £2.20

Bargain!

I would say the calliper IS lower quality than, say, a BB7, but that IS cheap for a proper metal part, no?!

Not sure where I’m heading, but I do feel better for that grumble!

DrP

mmb
    Free Member

it’s a con, i’m a manufacturing engineer and the prices are unjustifiable especially when you think that car parts are cheaper ffs!.

peterfile
    Free Member

luxury product market where a higher price tag seems to indicate higher quality and more “boutique”.

when people are willing to spend £4k on a “push bike” you open yourself up to all sorts of clever marketing designed to steal your cash! 🙂

bigpole
    Free Member

As long as we pay the prices they will charge what they want!!

There must be an opening for someone to make good quality parts at a sensible price with viral marketing.
    Why does no one do it ?

njee20
    Free Member

Isnt that what Superstar (and arguably On One/Planet X) do?

Gnnr

Sod that – I WANT TO SE THE CAR!!!

Ambrose

As Gnnr- this thread is no good without pics 😉

PJM1974
    Free Member

Agreed. This time 2 years ago you could buy SLX cranks for under £80. Now they’re double that.

To be fair a lot of this has to do with the UK importers buying stock a year in advance based on a falling pound, however and awful lot of it has to do with the fact that Shimano, Avid et al seem to want to up asking price for components that haven’t seen a meaningful revamp since 2008.

Mackem

Hardtail frame prices seem reasonable but component prices have gone mental.

Woody
    Free Member