Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • Where should I move to
  • TwirlipoftheMists

The wife and I, having got the marriage kerffufle out of the way, are now considering ‘lifestyle’ choices. Especially, where to live.
    We live in Southampton which is a bit naff for MTBing (though nice for roadie stuff). I’m a web developer, she’s doing whatever she can at the moment but is doing an OU degree in English as her one in Yacht Manufacturing and Surveying hasn’t been that useful.
    We’d like to live somewhere nice with good riding, some kayaking and a reasonable prospect of having a decent job.
    Not much further north than the top of the midlands either so as to cynically take advantage of free childcare at the hopefully still distant point that we decide to sprog.
    Basically, we’d like to live in the county, somewhere cheap, near a nice, biggish town with good biking and access to watersports. The moon, on a stick, with a cherry on top.
    Any suggestions?

wwaswas

Brighton area’s nice for most of your criteria. Not cheap, though.

Problem you’ll have is that what you want is quite popular so prices go up…

stumpy01

Bristol?

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

I know a place that covers all but one of those brilliantly. Too far north though.

the-muffin-man

North of Derby, along the Derwent Valley – Belper, Matlock, Wirksworth and surrounding villages.

• Nice towns and villages – not too expensive
    • Watersports – Matlock Bath, Carsington Water and surrounds, + watersports centre within reach.
    • Easy to get to Derby, Notts, Chesterfield, Mansfield and plenty of industry.
    • Great riding, great countryside, good road and rail links.

TwirlipoftheMists

Never been keen on Brighton. Could have been the friend I knew who lived there and the nightmare of driving and parking there when you’ve only just passed your test though.
    I am prepared to compromise, I know what I want is tricky.

I liked Nottingham.