Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • What laptop for software development?
  • jimmers
    Free Member

I need to order a new laptop for work. Software developer by trade (I know breaking news – STWer involved in IT).

Got an ageing Dell Latitude D620 with 1440 x 900 screen. I commute by bike so I wish to keep the weight to around 2kg and something like a 14″ screen.

Vertical screen res is important, don’t want to go below 900px in height. All the new laptops are HD in aspect ratio which is rubbish for coding with 1366×768 being typical.

Budget around £700 – £950. Any recommendations?

EDIT: Must be Windows, not a Mac (development stuff dictates this).

whatnobeer
    Free Member

Cheaper laptop with an external monitor that you can swivel around so its vertical an option? Other than that, coding shouldnt need too much resource wise (although some IDE can be a bit of a hog sometimes). Cant recommend anything specific, but i’d just get one that you reckon will be reliable and one from a company with good after sales support should you/the company need it.

jimmers
    Free Member

Aye have thought of the monitor idea but I sometimes work from home and I don’t have a monitor at home.

br
    Free Member

Cheaper laptop and buy a monitor for home?

cranberry
    Free Member

There seem to be some silly good deals on Thinkpads at the moment – perhaps one with an uprated screen would do you ?

xiphon
    Free Member

Buy a 24″ monitor (to turn 90′), nice mouse and keyboard.

I prefer my monitors 90′ anyway – I have 3 24s together, which make a lovely wide and high desktop.

coffeeking
    Free Member

Totally flummoxes me that a software eng doesn’t know exactly what his demands are in a work tool, and asks a bike forum?!

Flaperon

Depending on how good your eyesight is, get something with a 1920×1080 display. Having two windows open side-by-side for development much easier!

jimmers
    Free Member