Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Solicitors/Apostille/Notary
  • tails
    Free Member

I need a copy of my degree and CRB check apostilled. I have read rather than subjecting myself to the government official in Milton Keynes, I can get a solicitor to do this for around £15 a go.

Has anyone got any information as google is awash with late nineties looking websites. Can any solicitor do it? I live near Cambridge if that helps.

Nipper99
    Free Member

no, as a solicitor you have to have your details lodged with the uk border agency or some such gov’t department (apostillate) and not all solicitors are notaries – a separate qualification.

crankboy
    Free Member

I’m a solicitor and I had to Google apositille. Solicitors can certify a document is a true copy of the original for a fiver . Apositille seems to be an american word for legalize, so may be that would do but I doubt it. Personally I’d check with whoever wants it as to what they mean.

tails
    Free Member

I think you may be correct crankboy. If you certify something what do I get a stamp or signature? Can I generally just pop in?

Thanks for your advice guys.

tails
    Free Member

“Apostille.org.uk provide an apostille service to assist you in acquiring official UK Apostille Certificates for UK documents. The Apostille Certificate is normally requested by foreign authorities and organisations so that the document can be used for official purposes outside of the UK. It is also referred to as legalisation.”

😆 Their website does look like a money making template.

konabunny
    Free Member

Apositille seems to be an american word for legalize

No, it’s different – Hague Convention and all that. I seem to remember having to get this stuff done at Petty France (back when Petty France still existed).

Notarization is more common usage in the US than legalization.