Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Scott Spark 30?? – your thoughts or alternative suggestions please
  • andyxxx
    Free Member

I am a keen beginner and would appreciate any advice, input, bike suggestions.

I cycle varied terrain largely in the Peak District – big ups and downs with beautiful xc trails. I weigh about 131/2 stone and am fit.

I am selling my Specialized FSR XC Comp which was my first bike and has got me into the sport.

I want a FSR, it must have handlebar lockout and a good frame, so I can upgrade the components if and when necessary, rather than swapping the bike regularly

I am thinking of purchasing a Scott Spark 30 (2009 model now selling for about £2000 in the sales) but could afford the 2010 model at about £2500.

Is this a good choice of bike at this money level?

Any input appreciated

bumley
    Free Member

I've got a 2010 Spark 30 on order, lovely bikes.

Deffo go for the 2010 if you can afford it, has the new twinloc lever so you can lock out front and rear sus from handlebar….Also the 2010 is better looking than 09.

Go for it Scott bikes are fab

duckers
    Free Member

I dont know where you are but give westbrook cycles in Middlesbrough a ring, they usually match or beat any deal and have 2010 Scott's in store now.

nicks
    Free Member

£500 to have front and rear lockout from the bars seems alot, is there much spec difference ?

bumley
    Free Member

The 2009 model mentioned above is the sale price.

2009 RRP £2799

2010 RRP £2699

andyxxx
    Free Member

bumley – The twinlock lever is a big draw for me, but not sure if it draws me £500!!!

Duckers – Thanks for the info – I had seen they have the 09 for about £1900 which is where i will get it if I decide on this bike and year.

nicks – the 09 has rear lockout the 2010 has front and rear, so yes £500 for the extra front lockout does seem a lot, but i'm still tempted.