Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Returning to riding after collarbone break
  • brant
    Free Member

Snapped mine about four and a half weeks ago now. – http://www.shedfire.com/2010/03/18/broked-and-collared/
    It's healing, without a pinning operation, and I have no immediate plans to start riding again, but just wondered how long until anyone else who'd done it was back on the bike (tentatively) and then how long before riding without worry?

I know Lance was back on in 2 days.

bluebird
    Free Member

Not my collar bone, but I snapped my humurous 4 months ago. Despite a lot of bravado along the lines of 'I'll be back on my bike in no time', I started riding my bike outside last week. I could ride a static trainer in January, but I couldn't hold on with my bad arm. Even now my arm is incredibly weak and I can't bunny hop or lift the front wheel properly.

NigE5
    Free Member

After my second break on my left collar bone (10year gap)I was back on my bike in 5 weeks

StirlingCrispin

I was riding on road after 10 days – gently resting my hand on the bar and with the sling hanging round my neck for when I stopped. Wouldn't recommend this though…

Gentle off-road riding at 4 weeks and by 6 weeks was doing the Beinn A'ghlo circuit etc without any problems. Had discomfort for about 6 months on big hits but new forks solved that.

cinnamon_girl

Was off bike for 7 weeks and very nervous when I got back on. Unfortunately a good 5 years down the line I am still in pain despite not needing any pinning. Can't manage tight turns on one side.

Would suggest getting a physio to look at it.

brant
    Free Member

Crikey. I have turned into a right wuss by the sound of things. Though actually looks like three and a half weeks. I think.

Going to Taiwan the week after was quite good fun. I can drive (sort of), but still getting quite a lot of trapped nerve twinges.

Can't imagine swimming, well, not with two hands.

wors