Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Rear mech woes – ideas?
  • woody2000

COnverted my HT to 1×9 at the weekend. New mech, new cable and outer but old shifter. Indexing seemed to be a royal pain in the backside – when I get it just right going up the block (towards the spokes), then it just doesn’t seem to want to come back down again (very, very lazy return). I’ve just about got it to a point where it’s useable, but it’s not great. Any suggestions?

Deore shadow rear mech, old XT shifter

cynic-al
    Free Member

B tension screw?

Otherwise, something with cable, unless shifter has issues.

woody2000

B tension seems ok, it’s clearing the sprockets fine anyway. I’m a bit of a novice at gear set up TBH – can the limit screws have an effect? As in, I’m having to put a lot of tension in the cable to get it to the extremes of the block (biggest couple of sprockets), which I guess could affect the return travel? Checked the limit screws and they look to be fine, but….?

cynic-al
    Free Member

Limit screws affect limits only.

When you say “put a lot of tension” if you are having to put a lot of force in the shifting, something is up with the cable.

woody2000

A lot of tension with the barrel adjuster al, by the time I get to the bigger sprockets it’s like a piano wire!

Solo
    Free Member

by the time I get to the bigger sprockets it’s like a piano wire!

Sounds Cable related.
    Check your run, replace the inner at least, or go full hog and replace inner and outer.
    Lube also.
    Obviously, no tight bends or kinks in the cable run.

pusher
    Free Member

I had what sounds like a similar problem recently, it seems that the old shifter (LX, from 2000ish) was a bit too worn and there was enough play in it to cause this problem. Replaced it with a new deore shifter (which is pretty poor quality bit of plastic IMO) that has fixed it.

alexpalacefan

Sounds like a cable problem to me.