Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Outdoor GPS choices, choices……help?
  • bigbloke
    Free Member

Ok, i have had a couple of posts about outdoor GPS units. I basically want one to use on and off the bike, not for performance cadence or anything just navigation mainly. I need it to be easy to use as i’m a bit daft with tech, i also want a decent map set up preferably preloaded but i will entertain a unit that can download maps etc.

Units i have in mind…..

Memory Map 2800…£180 full GB map/bike mount

Garmin Etrex 20…..£148 no OS mapping supplied

Satmap Active 10 Plus….£280 Full GB mapping

Garmin Dakota 20….£250 Full GB mapping

Memory Map 3500….£280 Full GB mapping/bike mount

I really cant decide as the choice is bewildering, my fave if i am honest is the Garmin Etrex due to size and robustness but i’m unsure of the downloading of maps etc.

So opinions please, genuinely.

flatfish
    Free Member

Garmin Etrex 20 WITH mapping bundle is £180 at Taunton Leisure ATM.
    That would be my choice but I don’t need a new GPS.

druidh
    Free Member

I went through a similar process a few months back after my trusty Geko eventually failed on me. I opted for the Dakota 20 and one of the main advantages I saw in it was that it uses AA batteries. That means no recharging issues if out and about for several days away from mains power.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    bigbloke
    Free Member

flatfish…thanks for the heads up but that is a limited area map and can be had cheaper elsewhere.

djflexure

Have Satmap and recently Garmin 800.
    Satmap has a great display but suffers from being a bit big for the bars (although it can sit there, you won’t want it on every ride). The screen also shuts down to conserve battery life and you have to poke it every now and again to check that you are on course. Software is also a bit naff – especially on the Mac.