Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Nikon D90 … thoughts … potential step up from a D70?
  • Aus
    Free Member

Had some good photography advice from her previously so … have a D70 which I’ve really enjoyed. Tend to use a 50mm and 18-200 zoom. Played plenty with it, but finding it not great in low light; the v small screen and relatively slow focusing a bit annoying now. Otherwise, it’s great, and way better than me!

Would a step up to the D70 make sense in terms of the above? Also, I’m guessing that the D90, being that much newer, would have other modest benefits, and hopefully assist me in capturing good pics. I’m no professional, but am enjoying trying to learn the art!

Ta

donsimon
    Free Member

What lenses are you using in respect to the f number?

Mintman
    Free Member

I went D40 to D90; not sure its helped me take better photos but the greater ISO range and motor in the body to drive my 50mm lens has been a great improvement that i’ve enjoyed. The LCD display on the top has encouraged me to play with exposure and white balance and bracketing more than I ever have so it was an enjoyable upgrade for me.

meehaja
    Free Member

D90 is a good camera and has good low light capabilities, however, second hand they are fetching about £450 (or were when i replaced my stolen D90), depending on how much you are looking to spend, I’d be tempted to move up another notch, else there wont be that much difference between the 70 and the 90.

That said, I like your commitment to sticking to the camera mantra of only upgrade when your current camera is holding you back, and only upgrade to what you need.

If you’re going to use it, the HD video mode is nice, but its so rare that i use it!

Aus
    Free Member

thanks … I’m not expecting a change to make me better, maybe just to help me a tad more.

Don simon – both lenses are Nikon, 18-200vr and 1.8 50mm … I tend to seem to shoot typically with large apertures