Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • New cassette
  • mariner
    Free Member

Has anyone assembled a Shimano XT 11 speed MTB cassette onto a DT Swiss hub – successfully?
    I have never done this before so do not have any experience to call on but read the book and watched the video – what could possibly go wrong? Here is the problem.
    The locking ring as supplied with the cassette is not a precision match so there is a certain amount of lateral movement just threading the lock ring on to the hub without the cassette until it is screwed right in.
    The cassette has a very slight overhang of the hub which gives three maybe four turns to tight. Not using a torque wrench just a lock ring driver and quarter inch drive to tighten. Now unless I have developed super powers just tightening to what I estimate is the correct torque pulls the lock ring right off. First thought was stripped thread but all reassembles and managed to gently tighten to detect three slight grindy clicks and left it. Its all ‘assembled’ but right now don’t have confidence in it and rest of bike is not assembled so no chance to take it round the block.
    Questions –
    Is there a known problem with Shimano lock rings?
    Is there a known problem with DT Swiss hubs?
    Is there a known problem with Shimano/DTS combination?
    Is there a preferred/recommended lock ring for use in this combination?
    Suppliers assure me that cassette and hub are correct and will assemble.
    How would I know if the hub is actually SRAM type and not Shimano and how would I physically check?
    Off to a trusted bike shop on Monday but just wondered if anyone else has come across similar and how you fixed it?

Onzadog
    Free Member

The width of 10 speed and 11 speed mtg cassettes is the same I believe. The extra space required comes from the largest cogs overhanging the spoke flange.

It should fit. Could there be a spacers where it shouldn’t be?

ticsmon