Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Making a cup of tea
  • travellingman
    Free Member

As my kettle’s on the blink and I’ve resorted to using a saucepan over gas to boil water (which I quite like), I was just wondering which method uses the most energy to boil an equal amount of water?

RealMan
    Free Member

Saucepan. Kettle is much more efficient.

carlos
    Free Member

Aggreed, but the energy used to produce the electricity in the first instance has to be more than the gas surely?? Now I’m no expert but just sort of makes sense to me. No doubt I’ll be proved wrong very shortly. lol

travellingman
    Free Member

I’m sure you’re right real man. As a device it’s probably more efficient. Apparently ‘though a kettle uses the same amount of energy to boil one litre of water as it does to power a typical fridge for seven hours..

The same as carlos I was thinking along the lines of gas being a direct energy source whereas electricity is indirect, whith only a relatively small proportion derived from sustainable energy sources.

tron
    Free Member

Almost all the energy input in a kettle goes to heating the water. A hell of a lot of the energy input for the saucepan goes anywhere but into the water – convection will draw a lot up the side of the pan.

It could be a fairly close run thing. Wikipedia reckons cooking on gas is about 30% efficient. It also says your average fossil power station is about 50% efficient. But you also have to take into account transmission losses – one of the power firms had an ad in the Economist the other week and the transmission losses were very large, I think in the order of 50% or so.

Pook

Microwave it.

nonk
    Free Member

really frown at it while your waiting.

CHB

Also bear in mind that kW for kW gas is about half to a third the cost of electricity.

ocrider

Saucepan is more efficient (if you add salt and put the lid on)

Makes your tea taste sh1te, though.

Hohum
    Free Member

tron – Member