Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Laptop as main Pc at home
  • xcgb
    Free Member

After moving our desk and clearing out all the dust amongst the spaghetti of wires i thought it might be an idea to buy a laptop and use it as a Pc with the screen and keyboard we already have with the option of using it elsewhere in the house. we have a small gaff and saving space would help

Any pitfalls i should look out for? Missus gets very frustrated with technology so i dont want to make it harder/slower to use, i will need to occasionally hook up a scanner, but i guess thats just the same

Is this the way to go nowadays?

Ta Oracle

Mounty_73

I work in IT and I tried just using a laptop after getting rid of the PC, it lasted less than 2 months before enough was enough….

But I guess its horses for courses….I love my desktop and it will never go again! 😉

firestarter
    Free Member

I went from desktop to laptop a couple of years ago and last year went from laptop to phone still no problem 😉

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    kiwijohn

Never had a desk top, what’s the point? A laptop is plenty.

Cougar

I spent months speccing up a top end PC a couple of years ago before thinking “why?!” and buying a decent laptop instead. Never looked back, the old PC is now a media server and the lapdog my main machine.

clubber
    Free Member

If you do a lot of typing and mouse work then you don’t really want to be doing that on a laptop. If you’re just surfing then it’s perfect.

We have a laptop and a media pc – the laptop gets most direct usage – the media pc is just used for exactly that.

xcgb
    Free Member

Cheers guys I am not that clued up on laptops, I guess they are better than when I last looked 10 years ago!

I prefer macs but i cant see i’ll get the missus to swap!

clubber
    Free Member

Oh, you’ll start the geeks fighting with that last comment…

jamiep