Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • If it's not fat, what is it?
  • donsimon
    Free Member

I've been losing weight steadily for the last 8 months or so.
    Today I weighed myself on on of those weight/BMI/Body fat jobbies. I am always weighed on the same machine and today I noticed that:

24/02/10 73kg total weight/17.6kg fat
    14/04/10 71.1kg total weight/17.5kg fat

I've lost 1.9kg from total body weight but only 0.1kg fat.

If I'm not losing fat, what am I losing????

beej

If it was one of the machines that runs a current through you, they vary massively depending on how hydrated you are. My fat % will be about 2% higher in the morning (due to dehydrating overnight) than in the evening. I just use mine as a guide to long term trends.

RaveyDavey
    Free Member

If you aren't exercising or taking on enough protein then you'll be losing muscle mass but to be honest those scales are a waste of time. For an accurate body fat measurement you need to have it measured properly with calipers by an expert. Eat healthy and exercise. ignore the scales except for a rough comparison

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

Hair?

tazzymtb

a **** big tape worm, you may look thinner, but he's now a chunky little monkey in you intestines 😀

donsimon
    Free Member

a **** big tape worm, you may look thinner, but he's now a chunky little monkey in you intestines

It's my tape worm, so leave the little (not so little now) fekker out of it! 😉

Hair?

No, Nº1 all over.

If you aren't exercising or taking on enough protein then you'll be losing muscle mass but to be honest those scales are a waste of time.

My thought, but over the last year it's been quite linear between fat/overall. Today was a bit odd. Eating plenty of protien I guess, so shouldn't be a problem. I know they're not perfect scales, it's nice to see the numbers. 😀

RaveyDavey
    Free Member

it's nice to see the numbers.