• This topic has 21 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by bigG.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Help, cooking dinner tomorrow, need inspirational ideas
  • bigG
    Free Member

So I’m a half decent cook but my creative juices have run dry (it’s been a tough week at work).

We’ve got friends coming round for dinner tomorrow night, main course is sorted (Chicken with blue cheese sauce). I need suggestions for a light ish starter, not seafood and a dessert.

Wife is a fan of pavlova but the raspberries and strawberries are past their best. What other fruit would work well, and is in season?

The pressure is on to produce a good meal, the couple that are joining us have a friendly rivalry with us about cooking better dinners every time we get together!

So what does the singletrack culinary collective have to suggest?

Cheers!

PS I know I could rummage through my vast collection of cook books but to be honest I can’t be bothered right now.

G (off to open a bottle of Malbec to try to ease the stress of the week)

donsimon
    Free Member

If you’ve got the main course sorted, my suggestion os spag bol isn’t go to be of benefit, is it?

hungrymonkey
    Free Member

hows about a panacotta with red berries?

tonight i’m making chocolate and beetroot brownies – could be interesting…

grum
    Free Member

The pressure is on to produce a good meal, the couple that are joining us have a friendly rivalry with us about cooking better dinners every time we get together!

ps does this win an award for STW’s most middle class thread of the week, can anyone beat it? 😛

Cranachan for an easy pud?

AndyRT
    Free Member

Simple grilled goats chese starter on green salad with home made French dressing

dessert: apricot frangipan tart from book art of the tart

deadlydarcy
    Free Member