Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Fork/shock experts – advice please
  • perthmtb
    Free Member

New bike. I’m no expert on suspension, but I’ve noticed a problem with both the forks and rear shocks that I’m sure shouldn’t be happening…

1. Forks (Fox 32 F125 RL)- after putting a little air in, and letting some out, when I unscrew the shock pump off the valve there’s blue/green oily liquid filling the internals of the schrader valve. I did have the bike upside down for a while before this, but surely there shouldn’t be any oil/fluid in the air spring that could leak out through the valve – is there?

2. Rear shock (Fox Float R) The pin of the schrareder valve is recessed too far into the barrel of the valve. So when I screw the shock pump on it doesn’t depress it and allow me to pump air in, or release any out by pressing the button on the pump. If I press hard on the pump plunger it does build up enough pressure on the valve to open it for a short duration with a ‘click’ for the air to go in, but then closes again and only way I can release air is by removing pump & pressing valve pin manually.

Before anybody asks, yes its a new bike and these are obviously warranty issues, but before I tackle the shop I’d like to be properly prepared, as the guys have been known to try and BS their way out of warranty issues before!

Thanks.

phiiiiil

(1) is sort of normal… there should be some lubricating oil in the air side, and some will inevitably come out when letting any air out. It shouldn’t be much, though, but it might just be a combination of having had the bike upside down previously and possibly having slightly more oil than necessary. Better too much oil in than not enough, though, which seems to be how they normally are when new…

(2) I’m not sure about, but even if the pump doesn’t push down the plunger should the air pressure from the pump not do it anyway? Is the plunger stiff? Could it be that the valve core is screwed too far in or somesuch?