Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Compression/rebound tune for RP23 shock – what does it mean?!
  • woodywoodbine
    Free Member

I'm looking to lighten up my Giant Reign X a bit replacing the big heavy DHX3 coil shock for an RP23. Seem to be a lot knocking about on ebay but I know there are three levels of rebound/compression tune on the shock and these seem to change depending on bike manufacturer, suspension design etc…

I'm a total novice at this. Have I got this right, and what tune should I be looking for for a Reign X (Maestro system, basically VPP, 170mm travel)?

molgrips
    Free Member

There's a wide range of rebound adjustment. The P23 bit of the name means that you can turn propedal on or off, and there are three settings. So you can flick the switch to on or off, but you have to select whether or not on means level 1, 2 or 3 if you know what I mean.

I think for different bikes they set 1 2 and 3 to be different levels of damping.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

There's a wide range of rebound adjustment. The P23 bit of the name means that you can turn propedal on or off, and there are three settings. So you can flick the switch to on or off, but you have to select whether or not on means level 1, 2 or 3 if you know what I mean.

I think for different bikes they set 1 2 and 3 to be different levels of damping.

Sorry mate but you don't understand the question! 🙂

It's not about the ADJUSTMENT, it's about the operating perameters of that adjustment, if you like. Look on your shock and you'll see some little bars indicating the tune of the shock. The basic operating perameters of the shock are internally tuned for different bikes.

I know there are three levels of rebound/compression tune on the shock and these seem to change depending on bike manufacturer, suspension design etc…

Spot on!
    You need to find somone with the same fram, or contact the manufacturer for the correct info
    Oh, I'd imagine Mojo would know, too 🙂

titusrider