Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Broken Clavicle Non Union
  • mudmonkey1001
    Free Member

Hi , as the title says i have a broken clavicle(collarbone) right side. probably get this one a lot , but i like to think mines a bit different i broke my clavice 1 year and 3 months ago and obliviously its still broke and if your thinking if im in pain im not just get bit of aching now and again and being weak muscle in that area i feel the skin or muscle stretch or something when i lift something a bit quick but other than that pain free and if your just wondering what i do for a living im a postman lol and am 21. so lets get to my question basically i want to know , does anyone think its a good idea to start doing weights? , before i broke it i was regulary doing weights quite heavey at that. the other question i got is should i take surgery or leave if i aint suffering? bit of a long one and bit of a puzzle but thought i should ask the web.

goodgugu
    Free Member

Oops.. sorry to hear about your collarbone. Although it is pretty common… especially amongst MTBers!

If your collarbone is still broken after 1 year, I would suggest you see your doctor – it may be you need surgery to re-break and re-align the bone.

You are a bit late in terms of physio for your shoulder, but I would speak to a physio and see what they recommend.

I’m sure there are plenty of other people on here with collarbone injuries who can give you some more advice.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

If it was me I’d be wanting surgery to get the bones to join. I wouldnt be going for some surgery that I heard of recently for non-union of a clavicle – they took the clavicle out completely.

stuartie_c
    Free Member

Different bone, but I have a non-union scaphoid fracture in my wrist (it didn’t heal properly after breaking it for a second time, about 10 years ago).