Home Forums Chat Forum Why are downcountry hardtails so slept on by reviews?

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 62 total)
  • Why are downcountry hardtails so slept on by reviews?
    trialsmatt

Slack hardtails that are comfylier for longer rides than aggressive xc bikes, and a bit more confidence inspiring for aiming downhill should be a recipe for onboarding new riders on a lower budget. I’m surprised theres so little coverage of these bikes. I appreciate the love for sexy full sussers but good hardtails are the true onboarding point, and new starters aren’t fast or aggressive so bikes that eat steeps and sit comfier should be a golden goose to promote. I dont understand the lack of hype

convert

Slept on?

Whilst I agree kind of, I guess you have to look at who reads reviews – i.e. who is the target market for reviews not who is the target market for bikes. It’s not all mountain bikers – just some mountain bikers. Maybe not me – I’m past all that. And maybe not total newbies. It’s probably the totally obsessed inbetweeners a year or 3 in…….the kind of person now up for spending an unreasonable amount of money on a bike.

Reading reviews and allowing yourself to think that the words you are reading reflect the spending power or the obsession level of the complete market might be giving reviews too much credit.

trialsmatt

I guess. I cant be in the head of a potential mtb buyer, but for my imagined first time mtb consumer, a hardtail thats comfier and aimed to descend well, and take larger tires. Seems like a perfect starting point, you could make it skinnier and go faster, or bulk it up and aim down hills with more gusto.

An xc hardtail which is the frequent first (misguided) purchase doesn’t give you the range or opportunity to really feel things out.

And the platform to customize and tailor a bike establishes the secondary market of aftermarket kit.

Its a beautiful launch pad for the hobby in my eyes, synicaly from a marketing sales pipeline

trialsmatt