Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • We're all doomed
  • KT1973
    Free Member

According to this chap we are
    ….and he's been pretty accurate with his predictions in the past

Also,

Dmitry Orlov's 'Reinventing Collapse'

Just to cheer you up 😯

swollen
    Free Member

Scary stuff!!

rOcKeTdOg

where is Binners?

isn't dimitry Orlov that meercat chappie off of the telly?

psychle
    Free Member

so we should sell all our bikes now?

meehaja
    Free Member

most of my outdoor stuff is justified to the wife as it will be useful "when the war comes". This started as a joke, but over the last few years we've become increasingly adept at growing fruit and veg, foraging for food, building quality shelters and basic mechanics. I'm also a pretty handy plumber! When the zombie war starts, I'm running to the hills to grow leeks and live in a cave.

MrWoppit
    Free Member

One day, we're all going to die. There's no avoiding it, I'm afraid…

pp: Binners

KT1973
    Free Member

psychle – Member
    so we should sell all our bikes now?

That's the one thing you should hang on to. You'll be able to escape to the highlands more quickly when the Chinese come!!!

rightplacerighttime
    Free Member

kt1973,

I agree that these predictions are at least within the range of possibilities.

In fact they might have a certain appeal to the Mad Max generation, but perhaps life will turn out to be less like a film.

There are plenty of ordinary people thinking about this kind of thing though. For example Transition Towns movement.

ddmonkey

The trouble with this kind of prediction at the moment is that the more you look into it the more likely it seems to be correct. And the longer it takes to arrive the more disasterous its going to be. I feel genuinely uneasy these days with my place in society and the institutions I depend upon to survive and support my family. Not sure what I can do about it without my wife thinking I've gone mad.

speaker2animals