Home Forums Chat Forum Using Revolut account abroad

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Using Revolut account abroad
  • astura
    Free Member

I’m really new to this, but Iv been told that I can use my Revolut card account abroad and what ever balance is in there it will convert to the correct currency per transaction. Have I understood that right?

or is it an option to exchange through the app in bulk and if I do this is the balance visible via the app separately to use than the main account?

Which is the better option to do, converting to Euros

StirlingCrispin

Yes. I think.

My son recently used Revolut in Malta (and Paris, Rome and Amsterdam). I added money in the UK (as Sterling) and he bought stuff in Malta, in whatever their local currency is.

He used a physical Revolut card to do this.

Anything he didn’t spend remained in the account (in Sterling) for my other son to buy his school lunches with.

Note: Thump has only just turned 18 which is why we do this. It’s a useful backup.  In this case he was travelling and lost all his luggage.

astura
    Free Member

Ahh ok so you didn’t bother converting it just left it in the account as GBP and it just converted over there automatically?

StirlingCrispin

it just converted over there automatically

Yes.

StirlingCrispin

The app also shows transactions in £ and in euros.

hot_fiat

Yes, it’s converted instantly and at the bulk rate. My business account works a little differently in that it moves money between the Stirling, dollar and euro account as needed and then the money flows from there to the merchant.

joebristol

Yeah just keep it in Sterling in your Revolut account and it converts automatically when you make a transaction. If offered to pay in Sterling or Euro in a shop, always pick Eur. The Mastercard / Visa rate is usually expensive at the till va taking the Revolut exchange rate.