Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Unclipping mid air with SPDs?
  • balfa
    Free Member

Having ridden flats for years I've moved over to Spds. Only problem I've found is that on larger jumps or faster jumps I have a tendency to unclip on my forward foot mid air/on take off! This makes for some scary experiences!

Does anyone else have or had this problem? It is maybe that I'm just being a bit clumsy. Seems like the pedals are releasing vertically but hard to tell.

I'm using Time Z Freeride Pedals so there is plenty of float and not the easiest pedals to come out of. I would be scared to use any pedal that is more difficult to release.

BigJohn

Are the cleats worn? I occasionally get that happening on those pedals with older cleats. It's because you can push the spring forwards which allows the rear of the cleat to rise clear of its retaining wire. Check there is plenty of meat on the back of the cleat.

I've been using them for over 10 years, and don't have this problem normally.

acorlett

It's happened to me occasionally, but only if I'm pulling up accidentally…

coogan
    Free Member

Go back to flats.

wwaswas

Given that all the 'air' I get is descending a curb, unclipping mid-flight has not proven to be an issue.

It does sound like you must be twisting your foot a lot (to move the bike around?) as you can't pull up and out of time pedals.

GaryLake
    Free Member

Yeah, same here, worn cleats usually.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I used to have that problem with times, then i switched to flats.

balfa
    Free Member

The cleats are fairly new so I doubt that would be the problem. Will have a look when I get home. Strange thing is that it doesn't happen when whipping the tail out on smaller jumps when I imagine my foot is probably twisting.

cookeaa