Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 41 total)
  • Tennis – Can someone please explain?….
  • slackalice
    Free Member

I take a passing interest in the game – generally around now before the TDF starts, so I’m no expert, nor do I have any opinions on the sport, but…. Why is the UK so determined to produce an endless supply of mediocre players?

I read something the other day that suggested Andy Murray would have won a major by now if he was in a different generation. So?

How much lottery funding has the LTA received?

Centre Court is looking nice n green though.

schrickvr6
    Free Member

Nobody does mediocre better, not even the Belgians.

MSP

It’s not a mass appeal sport, there are not many facilities and any decent ones tend to belong to private and expensive clubs. While Wimbledon may get the media and the middle classes spunking over their strawberries once a year, it just doesn’t translate to a mass uptake of the sport, or any interest at all beyond that 2 weeks.

cynic-al
    Free Member

What MSP said.

Henman was 4 in the world for a while, so it’s not that bad.

tails
    Free Member

Doesn’t matter how much lottery money you get if 3 players are better than you! Are you mediocre playing at Wimbledon? Similar to the English football squad they are very good just you only get one best.

teamhurtmore
    Free Member

I am more interested in the rules re shouting out. At the French Open someone was deducted points for crying our in pain ( a woman if I recall correctly) and yet today there was Sciavone against Robson with service shrieks that my wife claimed sounded like F888 Me! How is that not cheating?

grum
    Free Member

I wouldn’t say Andy Murray is mediocre, he’s very good – just not quite good enough to win major titles.

teamhurtmore
    Free Member

Tennis players get past the QFs though! Well ok, two men and some doubles pairings.

glenh
    Free Member

Why is the UK so determined to produce an endless supply of mediocre players?