Home Forums Chat Forum Pulse oximeters- so much choice!

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Pulse oximeters- so much choice!
  • Ambrose

I’m a biology teacher. I am thinking about buying a set of pulse oximeters for use in class. Has anyone got any recommendations for a suitable model? Value for money, reliable, well constructed- with these things is it a case of pick any two?

grahamt1980

Look for CE and or UKCA marked ones.

Probably better to buy from a medical device supplier rather than amazon,  but if you don’t need them to be that accurate or medical device grade then get cheap ones on amazon

Drac

I went cheap from eBay it was as effective as the machines at work which are 1000s more.

Ambrose

@Drac, do you think that the £5.00 jobbies would OK for a class of teenage pupils?

Drac

Absolutely. If it’s to just show them SPo2 levels then more than good enough. You’re not using it as a diagnostic too so don’t need to be accurate.

luke
    Free Member

No point in spending large amounts of money on them.
    My last one was under £15 and colleagues have paid sub £10 they do the job there designed for.

Ambrose

Brilliant, many thanks for the advice.

Background to this is that we were given two devices years ago as a part of the London 2012 legacy. The pupils have always loved using them. I always thought that they’d be quite pricey and was pleasantly surprised at the cost when I looked.

So, based upon the advice received from some random people on the internet I think that due diligence has been done and I can order fifteen with a clear conscience 😂🤫

Fun fact, quite a few pupils think that they have a different pulse rate in different places in/on their bodies.

TiRed

Buy cheap. They are medical devices and certified. I tested my cheap one at the GP when I had a check in for my Long Covid. Was fine.

they dont have to be accurate for you, only consistent.

thelawman

I’m a biology teacher.

and