Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • press fit BB tools
  • wrecker
    Free Member

Complete newby to pressfit BBs. I understand that a headset press is the best thing for installation, and I’d want one that can also do 1-1/8 and 1-1/2 Hs cups as well as being able to install various BBs. Any recommendations please?
    Also, removal tools; is there one which can remove SRAM, shimano, hope etc and the different standards (BB30, BB92 etc etc which I do not understand at all yet)
    Do I need a different tool to press the bearings in too?
    Thanks!

Garry_Lager

BB30 is cannondale’s standard and is simply two bearings pressed direct into the frame. That’s it.
    BB92 has the bearings sitting in plastic cups, so you press in / knock out the cup and bearing assembly.

I use a cheap cyclus headset press to fit them – works great, and just carefully bash them out with whatever. Should really get the proper tool (from park) to bash on, scoring the frame bb shell would be pretty bad for a bb92 set up. The tool would prob enable you to remove bb92 cups without damaging them, if you wanted to take them out for any other reason than replacement.

wrecker
    Free Member

Thanks Garry, does the cyclus tool press in replacement bearings as well as the cups?

Garry_Lager

It does, but you need to use the flat side of the pressy things – (or at least one of them), you can’t use both ‘male’ sides at the same time. The threaded rod on the press is not threaded all the way down – there’s a smooth bit in the middle. This means there is a minimum width of shell it can accommodate.

Not sure if that makes any sense, but it’s not a problem in any case. I’ve not used other presses, so don’t know if they’re all like this.

wrecker
    Free Member

Makes perfect sense, flip one of the pressy bits for bearing installation.
    Perusing the park tools website now, it’s flipping dangerous!

13thfloormonk