• This topic has 67 replies, 45 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by uggski.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 68 total)
  • Practical advice for dealing with a dog attack
  • winston
    Free Member

So I got attacked by a massive angry and out of control dog last night cycling home from work. Was on a very popular bridleway just off the SDW. Not going to bore you with details but I managed to get away without being bitten but it was touch and go and I really thought I might get seriously damaged. Luckily it wasn’t my first rodeo and I did enough to calm the dog down so the owner could get to it but quite frankly it could have gone either way.

Now I’m not here for a discussion with dog apologists – This situation with dogs is clearly getting out of hand – I mean I wake up to yet another fatal attack in the news today. I’ve been cycling for over 40 years and this last few years the amount of times I’m threatened by dogs has risen exponentially – I mean almost every ride there will be an episode of some kind where a dog will jump up even if it just wants to play – This rarely used to happen, perhaps once in a dozen rides. I simply don’t want to deal with this.

In my opinion this particular owner has assaulted me with an offensive weapon and should be treated as you would treat any other violent assault. My question is what do you do?  I asked for her name and address but she obviously declined and walked off with a very angry dog she could barely control. Going after her is impossible for two reasons, one she has a massive dog which is itching to take a chunk out of me and two, it could be construed that I am presenting a danger to her by following her and she was just protecting herself with her hound.