Home Forums Bike Forum O-Chain-ers – talk to me please

Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • O-Chain-ers – talk to me please
    chakaping

I’m interested in one for my enduro and/or trail bike (could swap cranks between them).

Who’s using them and what can you say about:

1. Whether the hype is real

2. Which model to buy (there are several now) and whether you can use any old 104BCD ring/nuts/bolts

Thanks in advance

the00
    Free Member

I have no experience, but also curious.

The thing that puts me off is needing to go back to bolt on chainrings, I rather like the simplicity of direct mount.

andyrm
    Free Member

Had mine about 18 months – on a 180mm Marino single pivot (so significant chain growth/pedal kickback), running at 9°. Been really impressed, definitely makes a big difference in terms of grip/sensitivity on chunky tech where you’re braking.

I’ve also found I’m getting less foot pain/sole wear (I run flats) and I think less drivetrain wear too.

Running a 30t 104bcd ring no problem – you should find any will fit fine ?

SirHC

Run one on my G1, which is predominantly an uplift bike.

– Bike is much quieter (its pretty quiet to start with, lots of velcro and other bits)

– There is no drivetrain noise of the cassette engaging (this is more slow speed)

– My feet are less fatigued on an uplift day, there is definitely a lot less feedback through the pedals.

You do need to service them reasonably often and the rubber bumpers inside tend to get mashed a fair bit.  If I was doing more pedalling, would probably take it off and keep it for the big uplift days.

chakaping

Been really impressed, definitely makes a big difference in terms of grip/sensitivity on chunky tech where you’re braking.

I’ve also found I’m getting less foot pain/sole wear (I run flats)

Cheers, I’m also a flats rider so that’s good to hear.

You do need to service them reasonably often and the rubber bumpers inside tend to get mashed a fair bit.