Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Megavalanche – your bike setups.
  • michaelmcc
    Free Member

I’m a total newb to this and wanting to do it next year soo…, what bikes did people run for this? Guessing 27.5 is the most popular wheel size? Many on 26 or 29?
    Anything you’d change about your bike setup if you did it again? More / less travel?

Cheers!

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Been a few years ago… Whatever you are most comfortable on. Pick some big rocky lakes rides and some long wooded descents and see what feels best.
    Best bike depends on your strengths, weaknesses and ambition. Bigger bikes for survival while watching the field pedal away from you, shorter travel lighter if you can make the tech and avoid punctures etc.

Been to the alps before?

If I was to go now I’d take my blur ltc with 160mm up front and beef up the rubber.

rickmeister

Mrs Rickmeister did it on a 2008 Orange 5. The only change from standard were a set of Maxis dh tyres and wider rims.

Bike did fine, she was great and she finished well. Happy days.

Its a mix of full dh Enduro Gnarpoons to one person riding an old Trek ht with 80mm forks.

I reckon, just ride what you have, know it really well and then make it as reliable as possible.

Its a great event. We were there for the week and it was worth it to get into the groove as it was a bit different.

kimbers

wheelsize is fairly irrelevant (isnt it always?)

most important is that your brakes are working well and you have dual ply tyres

beyond that well set up suspension and a dropper post are a good idea and make sure you are prepared for lots of arm pump

michaelmcc
    Free Member

Been to the alps before?

Yeah a week in Morzine 12 years ago. Did Iron Bike two years ago, so a few 3000 metre descents. Spend about 6 weeks riding the bike park in Whistler too, so I know about arm pump lol 😆

michaelmcc
    Free Member

Good to hear a huge mix of bikes though.

scottfitz
    Free Member