Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Low carb diet + Type 2 diabetes + cycling = ?
  • derek_starship
    Free Member

Has anybody researched this combination?

I’ve just started a LCD to shed some weight and improve control of HbA1c. Commuting home last night (10 miles off road) I felt very drained. Not sure if it was the 31deg C or riding without carb’s on board.

Any experiences / advice much appreciated.

Coyote
    Free Member

I am not a scientist but…

You’ve just started the LCD. Your body will probably need a little time to adjust. 31C will not help matters at all. Who has advised the diet?

uponthedowns
    Free Member

As above especially if your diet has been high in carbs.

Just finished Fast After 50 by Joe Friel. In it he describes changing to a low carb diet to control middle age spread and finding he felt bad for 3-4 weeks until his body got used to it. Once it did he said he was able to train with greater intensity than before.

poah
    Free Member

I am a scientist* ha ha ha ha

not sure I would do a LCD if I had type2 diabetes though – The control of your blood sugar is diet controled and you might have issues with side effects. You should consult your doctor and see what they advise.

you’re probably better controlling your calorie intake and doing more exersise. its not as efficient for loosing weight in the short term compared to LCD but its certainly going to be safer for someone like you.

*disclaimer I’m a structural biologist and its been over 10 years since I published in the metabolic research field.

gobuchul
    Free Member

How low is low?

I have been following a low carb diet for a few years now.

Basically just cut out heavy and starchy carbs. No pasta, bread, potato or similar.

Eat a lot of veg and eat low GI fruit like strawberries etc. So I get my carbs from them.

It took a couple of weeks to get used to it but I got a lot benefits from it.