Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Like maps, bikes and got a competitive streak?
  • welshfarmer

Then why not try Mountain bike orienteering. I have been doing it for a few years now and will be setting out my own event on March the 19th near to Monmouth in SE Wales. Would be great to see some new faces from STW come along and give it a try.

Being early in the season there will be a fair few road miles linking together woodland tracks, greenlanes and the odd muddy bridleway. Ideal bike choice for the area would be a fast hardtail or an XC/gravel bike, though any bike is fine and there will be someone there on an Orange 5, another on a fat bike and almost certainly a few E-bikes (which have their own class). Entry is not expensive and includes food post-event in the village hall HQ.

Basic format. You get an A3 sized 1:25K map extract (approx 10x7km) with 25 check points of various points value scattered across the map. When you get the map you will have 3.5 hours to visit as many checkpoints as you can. You can choose any route you wish (using ROWs) and do as many or as few CPs as you want, so long as you are back within the time limit, otherwise time penalties will be added to your score.

Further info and online entry is possible using the following link. Entry on the day is also possible but please drop me an email in advance if you are thinking of coming as we may need to print more maps

Hope to see you there

Mark

http://www.bmbo.org.uk/calendar/details.php?event_id=872

thenorthwind

Well done for putting an event on Mark.

I used to do a few MBO events in the now deceased North East series, and then the North Yorkshire series, but can no longer justify the travelling to myself.

They were always good fun, wide variety of riders as you say, and good value – entry was about £10 or £12 for a day entry which I think is a bargain.

I hope people support yours.

faustus