Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • I quite fancy a 1970's vintage Omega
  • jkomo

1970’s preferably, not mega money, maybe £400ish.
    In reality will it be okay as an everyday watch, or will it only work as a watch to get out occasionally?
    Any experts in tonight?

shifter
    Free Member

I’m no expert but, if you fancy one, buy one, and wear it!
    No point having one and not wearing it, that’d be like having a nice bike and not getting it muddy.

jkomo

Well I’ll definitely wear it, just wondered how reliable it’ll be.
    I can’t really afford to keep getting it serviced.

bearnecessities

An excellent choice 😀

1972 Omega Geneve here, Hirsch genuine croc strap (did you know Omega straps cost 4x more but are the same ones made by Hirsch?!) and Omega buckle.

Manual wind, but actually a nice morning tradition – mine has remained perfect time for circa 3 months.

Pushing it with £400 for a nice example, add a bit more and you’re there. Don’t go for the “faded faces” ones, there are some belters available.

Worn every day 😀
    (sorry for fuzzy pics; autofocus borked on phone)

With a crappy strap:

Decent strap, but crappy camera.

withersea
    Free Member

I’ve got a gold seamaster, have serviced three times over a twenty-two year period and have spent circa £100-£150 per service.

Lovely watches and hold their money really well and much more subtle than the newer big brash versions.

jkomo
    bearnecessities

IMO, overpriced. Are you looking for a classic/discrete look? If so, IMO you would think twice if you saw it on your wrist.

EDIT: Again, it’s a style that looks dated. If you’re ok with that then that’s fine, but you can get some much better prices on fleaBay TBH.

jkomo

Ok, I’ll look.
    I am after this style, I really like it.

neilnevill
    Free Member