Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Help needed – servicing my Magura Wotan forks.
  • dazzlingboy

After receiving no reply at all from the local Magura “passion point” dealer (another story), I’ve opened up the forks for a simple service all as per Magura service docs. I’m new to this kind of spannering so wasn’t too sure what to expect. After spilling oil all over the kitchen floor, I have removed the lowers and can clean the seals etc.

Question – with the lowers removed, I can push in the individual legs. The rebound leg feels firm and smooth – kind of as you would expect. The other leg, with the Albert Select, pushes in very easily. When I switch AS on, it becomes firmer, but in both settings I can hear the oil sloshing around inside – is that normal, or do I need to send them away for a full service?

Thanks.

PJM1974
    Free Member

I share your frustration with Magura’s customer service (or lack thereof).

It sounds about right to me, if the seals had broken then Albert Select wouldn’t be working at all, no?

What was the state of the oil that came out of the lowers?

dazzlingboy

Oil was actually ok – I don’t think a service was necessary but after 2 weeks in the Alps I thought it wouldn’t do any harm. All I’m doing is cleaning and replacing the lubricating oil in the lowers. Some oil was leaking past the seals in France after lots of riding so I thought they’d be dry/contaminated but no – not really. And it really is a doddle to get the lowers off and have a look around inside although not really into the true workings of the fork.

The stanchions are a bit worn internally but I bought the forks 2nd hand so not sure how much use/abuse they had previously. I’ll maybe post some pics up later.