• This topic has 13 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by z1ppy.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Gardenererers….What electric hedge trimmer?
  • aphex_2k
    Free Member

Got a hedge about 12m that needs a good trim. Ordinarily I’d get some shears but it’s bloody hot and if I can get away with buying a new tool/gadget that (in my head) makes things easier, then I’d always favour this way…

Fanx

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

A petrol one, no cord to cut through.

alexonabike

Pelenc, if you’ve got deep pockets.

trail_rat
    Free Member

petrol for 12 metres – really ?

if your cutting through the cord on a corded trimmer you really shouldnt be operating the thing.

cord goes over your shoulder and across your front. then it acts as a retractable cord due to weight to the floor when you move the trimmer.

i borrowed my neighbours challange argos thing and it did the job fine (and i used to cut hedges for a living) Then i inherited my old stihl back from my employer and i use that now – but i wouldnt have gone out and bought one for the length of hedge i have …..

CaptainSlow

I’ve had a bosch li ion hedge trimmer for quite some time that does the job well. I think it’s about 50″, probably 5+ years and used to cut about 20m+ hedge twice yearly. Light, cuts well and very easy to use.

that was at the old house. Just moved and plan on planting a new hedge (to be decided) that’ll be about 50-60m so will be an interesting test 🙂

globalti
    Free Member

Somebody gave me an unwanted petrol trimmer, a really cheap nasty one. It was so heavy that I’d have needed muscles like a gorilla to use it so I took it to the dump. Plus, I don’t actually have a hedge…

oliverd1981
    Free Member

12m of straight hedge – any electric one with a long enough cut is probably fine.

I got a petrol one from screwfix with an extension pole for trimming the top of the tall hedge, which is great. It’s also a pretty average strimmer too.

IHN