Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Explain electricity to me (camper van content)
  • ahsat

Yes I have a PhD, but in Geography and it means I have very little common sense and electrical stuff just is a dark art.

P20 and I are finalising T6 conversion phase 1 for the end of the winter and as part of it, we have decided to put a Clayton Lithium Power System (2500 W/100 Ah) in, in replacement for the traditional leisure battery on the recommendation of the converter. Part of the motivation is you can run the van ‘gas free’ with an induction hob.

I like the idea of the counter top hobs as then you can also cook outside when the weather allows to keep the bacon fat outside the van. I’ve been looking at the Lakeland units which are single ring and run from 200-2000W. The thing is I’d like to run two rings for stuff like curry + rice etc. If I run each hob on a max of 1000W if running at the same time, my understanding is this would work?

As far as I can tell, 2-ring induction hobs that have a max of 2500W and run off a 13A fuse are very rare. Thetford do make a camping specific one for integration into a unit, but is £650 😳

We also plan to run a Dometic compressor fridge but I could unplug this whilst using the hobs if needed. We will also have a 160 W solar panel.

Advice for an idiotic woman welcome… (don’t judge p20 , he’s working and I’ve been trying to work this out myself…!!)

tillydog
    Free Member

If I run each hob on a max of 1000W if running at the same time, my understanding is this would work?

It depends whether the hobs have a variable power output (i.e if they do actually run at 1000W continuously, or if they run at 2000W for 50% of the time).

You realise that you’ve got just about half an hour’s running for 2 x 1kW hobs before the battery is completely flat, don’t you.

trail_rat
    Free Member

What’s the motivation for gas free.

I stopped reading about those Clayton units when I saw the price.

spooky_b329