Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • "Engineeering" experiments/demonstrations for a class of 9/10 yr olds. HELP!
  • rockhopper70

My son has volunteered me to help with his science class next Tuesday, studying levers and forces etc.
    He piped up, telling teacher that I was an Engineer and the discussion clearly reached a point where he voluteered me to assist the teacher who said, “Engineering wasn’t really her thing”.

It actually quite a daunting prospect not having done anything remotely like it at all ever.

On the assumption that this is actually going to go ahead, I could do with some preperation and thought a few simple, experiments might help but I need inspriation/examples!

See saw/balance/leverage etc as a starting point but they need to be safe!

coolhandluke
    Free Member

BD cubed over 12 theory?

At, least they’ll never ask again…

poisonspider
    Free Member

What about the classic, build the tallest tower out of spaghetti and cellotape that can hold a boiled egg?

rockhopper70

could do with being lever and forces based I think.

Drac

Build one of these.

perchypanther
    Free Member

Get them to globalize their verticals.
    Apparently engineers can’t get enough of that shit 8)

Fat-boy-fat

Simple see saw versus different weights? Shows the whole force times distance thing. Very safe. A bit boring though.

jimdubleyou

Bridges.

Of the cantilever variety, made of rulers and pennies.

captainsasquatch
    Free Member

http://letsdoscience.com/content_pdf/Grade4WheelsLevers.pdf
    You can even talk about bikes aswell.

Albanach
    Free Member

Build a simple container crane model which uses a reel to lift boom up and hang weights off it yntil your thread/wool/wire/fishing line breaks. Interactive as the kids could add the weights in the form if selo taped coins…

poisonspider
    Free Member

What about something with spring balances?