Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Do I get a HRM?
  • mcboo
    Free Member

First 50km or so I was red-lining at HONC yesterday, trying to keep with my mate. Legs went, second half was no fun……HRM will keep me from going too hard right? I’ve long thought about getting one but dont want to get yet another toy I just dont need.

Am training for a very long, multi day MTB ride in July…..starting to feel like I need to start taking things seriously.

wurzelcube
    Free Member

I’m no expert but here goes with my opinion… I’ve got a polar CS200, I bought it to keep an eye on my heart rate and to see how many calories I burn during excercise sessions.

The likelihood is that I’m not getting the best out of the technology but to be honest all I do is look at my average when I get home and look at my HR when climbing a tough section.

If the guy or girl in front is pulling away I doubt a HR monitor will prevent you from wanting to try and stay with them.

RealMan
    Free Member

For intense effort it’s better to go on feel IMO. HR is delayed (put in a big effort, it takes some time for your heart rate to go up, have a rest, it takes some time for your heart rate to go down), so by the time you’ve realised you’ve gone over your limit it’s probably too late.

Better for base training I think.

crikey
    Free Member

Buy a cheap one.

My own experience is that they work less as a direct training tool and more as a way of encouraging you to focus on how much work you are doing; as above, you knew you were red-lining for 50 kms, but being able to see a higher than usual heart rate should have set off alarm bells and enabled you to make a more informed decision about the pace you were riding at.

I used to use one many years ago for training, but now I use it as you are suggesting; as a way of making sure I’m not going too hard too soon.

njee20
    Free Member

First 50km or so I was red-lining at HONC yesterday, trying to keep with my mate