Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Commuting in London: lights?
  • crotchrocket
    Free Member

Are there unwritten rules on the subject?
    I’m new to this so tried to copy the crowd: flashing lamp rather than superbrite Mtb off road setting.
    But I crossed one of the parks, flipped the lamp to a non-flash low setting (so I could see the path) and was screamed at by a rider going the other way “turn off that light you f’ing ****”.
    Was he a random nutter or did I break The Code again?

I say again… Apparently cycling through a red light is also frowned apon. Who knew?!?!

ti_pin_man
    Free Member

proof that there are as many knobs on bike as in cars… tell him where to go, light up dude! maybe dip the position to pish less people off but definitely light up. Its the cyclists without lights thats the problem = death wish.

mikeconnor
    Free Member

Very bright lights in a dark place such as a park might be quite unnerving for some people. The reaction seems a bit over the top though. I’ve asked a couple of other cyclists to aim the beams of their stupidly bright lights downwards more when on towpaths and such, as they can temporarily blind you which isn’t what you want really.

People who think it’s sensible to mount a red light to the front of their bikes need to have a word said to them though.

brooess
    Free Member

The north/south path through Hyde Park is a bit of a mare at night. So many super bright lights you do get dazzled a bit. And I suspect I’m dazzling others myself with 3 front lights, including helmet!
    Do what keeps you safe IMO. I take it easy through the parks simply because it can be hard to see the path properly as a result of all the riders coming the other way. But if they want bright lights so drivers see them, then that’s ok by me!

eyerideit
    Free Member

ti_pin_man – Member