Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Being asked to work whilst signed off on a sicknote…
  • 4ndyB
    Free Member

I had an operation last Tuesday for an Inguinal Hernia

The Surgeon has signed me off sick for 2 weeks

I only received the sick note today when I went in for a check up after the op, the sick note has not been delivered to work yet as I am unable to drive & I have no one to drive me there

I work in retail & it does involve some lifting of 10kg-18kg items

The shop has another 2 full time employees (boss is one of those)

I have just received a communication from the boss asking me if I can go into work at 8.30 tomorrow as he is not going to be in the shop

I am not planning on going to go into work, I am on the sick and cannot do any lifting for another 5 weeks, I was planning on returning to work next Tuesday, 2 weeks after the op

I’m told the recovery from the surgery may take 3 months for all the layers of the muscle wall to return to normality

I may be asked by the boss (once I reply) to do light duties, such as being another pair of eyes in the shop or to answer phones

Would I be unreasonable to refuse to work?

If I do refuse to work, what can the boss do? (I have no written contract, just verbal)

wwaswas

refuse to work.

our insurance didn’t cover anyone who had a current sick note working and that was an office with no liftign at all.

tell them that your sick and that it’s in everyone’s short and long term interests for you to rest and recover.

Stuey01
    Free Member

AFAIK if you are signed off you are not allowed to work. Your bosses insurance won’t cover if anything happens to you whilst at work when supposed to be on the sick.

You are signed off, you can’t work. It is not unreasonable not to work. Especially for something as serious as this, it’s not like you gotten signed off with a touch of manflu is it.

4ndyB
    Free Member