Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Ardent 2.25 vs. Purgatory 2.3 ??
  • iainc

hovering in my basket, which to go for ????

I have no experience of either, but they both get good reviews

Will be going on both ends of a Soul, riding mainly natural west of Scotland stuff.

jameso

Go for the purgatory, great all-round tyres. Don’t go for 2.25 ardents unless it’s a slidy rear tyre you’re after. I use both and 2.4 ardents in some combo or another for 90% of my riding.

iainc

thanks jameso

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Purgatory. Awesome tyre, Iain. Control is a wee bit tougher than the s works.

ae212060
    Free Member

Both excellent tyres! I tend to use the Ardent as a rear and purgatory on the front.

iainc

aaaargghhhh, bought them both 😳

alzore
    Free Member

How quicker is a purgatory over a butcher (both control).

Was running a butcher front and purgatoy rear and loved it but with all this sunshine, I stuck a crossmark on the back last night…

Just wondering if i should swap the butcher for the purg laying in the shed.?!

Thanks

jameso

I tend to use the Ardent as a rear and purgatory on the front.

Great ‘middle conditions’ combo. I swap to a 2.4 ardent up front in the dry, Purg on the back in the wet. But if I had to choose 1 tyre for everything it’d be the Purgatory, slower on the dry trails than some but great everywhere else.

PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

I like the Purgs.

Only major downside I’ve found is that they don’t brake brilliantly in a straight line on steeper stuff compared to something like a High Roller, but then again they also roll a lot better.

robbonzo
    Free Member

So maybe a purg rear, Butcher control Front would be a nice combo?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Don’t go for 2.25 ardents unless it’s a slidy rear tyre you’re