Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Anyone done any SQL courses?
  • dogbert
    Free Member

Been offered by the company I do IT support for some free training from external sources……..has to be Microsoft training so they can keep their accreditation (or whatever its called)

So i’m thinking about some SQL training, something I have very little experience with and it can’t hurt my CV

So the question is, where to start? really have to be online or distance learning but would anyone have any suggestions?

IanMunro
    Free Member

Sorry no idea, but it might be worth clarifying for others if you just want to learn the intricacies of SQL or whether you need to learn about relational databases, their design and how to query them using SQL.

5thElefant
    Free Member

A 3-5 day intro course at a training company would be the obvious choice. Failing that buy a book.

woody2000

select * from courses where cost=”free” ;

🙂

pennine
    Free Member

Woody: 😆

Basic stuff here
    Linky

portlyone

Are they training you on Access or SQL?

xiphon
    Free Member

If you know where to look ( something to do with a pirate ship? Don’t quote me on that… ), there are some excellent training videos floating around on the net.

Having an understanding of the SQL (even if it’s the basics) will make your course go much smoother.

Currently watching the CBT Nuggets CCNA vids.

Dibbs
    Free Member

I bought SQL Cookbook and Learning SQL by Oreilly media because my job has somehow evolved into needing a knowledge of SQL.

mogrim

IanMunro +1 – to my mind there are 3 possibilities:

1. Database installation + administration
    2. Database design
    3. Database querying + form generation

5thElefant
    Free Member

What has ‘form generation’ got to do with sql?

mogrim

What has ‘form generation’ got to do with sql?