Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Any seismologists/geologists/volcanoligists on here?
  • psychle
    Free Member

Is it just me, or has there been a lot of seismic activity lately? Seems like there've been quite a few earthquakes in the news and now volcanic action in Iceland… is it all related somehow? Or just coincidence?

crikey
    Free Member

Compared to when?
    No, I don't think there is any great geological disturbance in the force, but I did my degree 20 years ago…

coffeeking
    Free Member

Isn't it what they call zipper-rift or something like that – basically when one point "breaks" the others are loaded with more strain, meaning the whole line starts to unzip and releave the forces causing the initial crack.

Its not called that, but it's the same process as I describe – consider a spot-welded pair of panels, pull them apart and as soon as one weld shears the others are more highly loaded, so they shear etc.

All volcanic activity is inter-related on a macroscopic scale – they're all interlinked at the plate boundaries.

molgrips
    Free Member

Or it could be co-incidence? Three of an event that happens all over the world all the time is not enough to draw a conclusion.

coffeeking
    Free Member

No, true molgrips, but I think most have been along the same fault line have they not?

molgrips
    Free Member

China, Iceland and Haiti?

myfatherwasawolf
    Free Member

Geologist here. Stuck in New Orleans after a geology conference…

kimbers

i heard ba cabin crew have been tunneling under iceland since their strike

psychle
    Free Member

no idea, just seems to me that I've heard lots of news lately about earthquakes etc, got me wondering if there was a link?

coffeeking
    Free Member